Final Major Project: Hierophant

The closer it gets to September, the more excited I get! Having accepted my place at Manchester Metropolitan University to study Fashion Design, (finally) I’m starting to get my head around the fact that I will actually be leaving home, almost a year after my friends. This last year I took part in the Foundation Diploma in Art and Design, which I would recommend to anyone. This year has been a massive learning curve and has introduced me to some really talented people, who I can now if not slightly enviously call my friends.

My favorite part of the Foundation Diploma was definitely the Final Major Project, as it was the only part of the course that I could focus entirely on Fashion.

My FMP was inspired by the stylistic features of Gothic/Gothic Revival architecture, e.g. its Ribbed Vaulting and internal columns, which are both integral to the structural support of Gothic buildings. I then translated this research into the silhouettes of my garments as shown above. 

Let me know what you think!

Love Em x

Leave a comment